MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prizes

The 2023 MSJ Takebe Prizes

The 2023 MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prizes are awarded to the following members of MSJ.

MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prize

Teruhisa Koshikawa (Research Institute for Mathematical Sciences, Kyoto University)
Study of cohomology theory in arithmetic geometry
Koichi Taniguchi (Advanced Institute for Materials Research, Tohoku University)
Operational calculus on Besov spaces
Kenkichi Tsunoda (Faculty of Mathematics, Kyushu University)
Hydrodynamic limit and large deviation principle for lattice-gas

MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prize for Encouragement of Young Researchers

Yushi Hamaguchi (Graduate School of Engineering Science, Osaka University)
Studies on stochastic Volterra integral equations and related stochastic control problems
Tatsuro Kawakami (Graduate School of Science, Kyoto University)
Algebraic varieties in positive characteristic
Toshiki Matsusaka (Faculty of Mathematics, Kyushu University)
Study on the arithmetic of harmonic Maass forms and mock modular forms
Takuya Murayama (Faculty of Mathematics, Kyushu University)
Study of Komatu-Loewner evolutions
Shuntaro Tsubouchi (Graduate School of Mathematical Sciences, The University of Tokyo / College of Arts and Sciences, The University of Tokyo)
A regularity theory for perturbed singular elliptic equations

In celebration of its 50th anniversary, the MSJ established above mentioned prizes named after Katahiro Takebe (1644-1739) --- a prominent mathematician in Japan who was a disciple of Seki Takakazu and was noted for his creation of charts for the values of trigonometric functions. The Takebe Prize is set up for young researchers who have obtained outstanding results, and the Encouragement Prize is intended for young mathematicians who are deemed to have begun promising careers in research by obtaining significant results.