MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prizes

The 2021 MSJ Takebe Prizes

The 2021 MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prizes are awarded to the following members of MSJ.

MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prise

Kento Fujita (Graduate School of Science, Osaka University)
Study on the K-stability of Fano varieties
Jean-Stefan Koskivirta (Graduate School of Science and Engineering, Saitama University)
Study on geometry of Shimura varieties and mod p automorphic forms
Tatsuhiko Miura (Graduate School of Science, Kyoto University)
Mathematical analysis on evolution equations in curved thin domains
Yoshiki Oshima (Graduate School of Information Science and Technology, Osaka University)
Analytic representation theory of semisimple Lie groups

MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prize for Encouragement of Young Researchers

Masayuki Hayashi (Research Institute for Mathematical Sciences, Kyoto University)
Studies on solitons of the derivative nonlinear Schrödinger equations
Kazuhiro Ito (Université Paris-Saclay, Centre national de la recherche scientifique)
Cohomology and algebraic cycles of algebraic varieties over p-adic fields
Megumi Sano (Graduate School of Advanced Science and Engineering, Hiroshima University)
Variational problems associated with functional inequalities and the discovery of new scale invariances
Yuta Suzuki (College of Science, Rikkyo University)
Contributions to additive number theory
Teppei Takamatsu (Graduate School of Mathematical Sciences, The University of Tokyo)
Finiteness and reduction in arithmetic geometry
Mayuko Yamashita (Research Institute for Mathematical Sciences, Kyoto University)
Index theorem and noncommutative geometry

In celebration of its 50th anniversary, the MSJ established above mentioned prizes named after Katahiro Takebe (1644-1739) --- a prominent mathematician in Japan who was a disciple of Seki Takakazu and was noted for his creation of charts for the values of trigonometric functions. The Takebe Prize is set up for young researchers who have obtained outstanding results, and the Encouragement Prize is intended for young mathematicians who are deemed to have begun promising careers in research by obtaining significant results.