TOP Page > Web News > 2013 MSJ Takebe Prizes

2013 MSJ Takebe Prizes

The 2013 MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prizes were awarded to the following members of MSJ.

MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prise

Benoît COLLINS (Tohoku University)
Free probability and its applications
Takehiko YASUDA (Osaka University)
Motivic Integration and singularities
Kentaro NAGAO (Nagoya University)
Donaldson-Thomas theory and cluster algebras

MSJ Takebe Katahiro Prize for Encouragement of Young Researchers

Nao HAMAMUKI (The University of Tokyo)
Analysis on Hamilton-Jacobi equations with its applications to crystal growth phenomena
Hiromu TANAKA (Kyoto University)
Minimal model theory in positive characteristic
Hajime KANEKO (Nihon University)
Diophantine approximation of algebraic numbers and a conjecture of Emile Borel
Yoh TANIMOTO (The University of Tokyo)
Operator algebraic methods in two-dimentional quantum field theory
Hisashi KASUYA (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
Topology and geometry of solvmanifolds
Kenta OZEKI (National Institute of Informatics and JST-ERATO)
Hamiltonicity of graphs

In celebration of its 50th anniversary, the MSJ established above mentioned prizes named after Katahiro Takebe (1644-1739) -- a prominent mathematician in Japan who was a disciple of Seki Takakazu and was noted for his creation of charts for the values of trigonometric functions. The Takebe Prize is set up for young researchers who have obtained outstanding results, and the Encouragement Prize is intended for young mathematicians who are deemed to have begun promising careers in research by obtaining significant results.

MSJ Takebe Prizes Awardees