Survey of MSJ

History of MSJ


The MSJ was founded in 1877 as Tokyo-Sugaku-Kaisha (Tokyo Mathematics Society) with 55 members. Subsequently, it was expanded to Tokyo-Sugaku-Buturi-Kaisha (Tokyo Mathematical and Physical Society) and later to Physico-Mathematical Society of Japan. It was split in 1946 into two separate societies: "The Mathematical Society of Japan" and "The Physical Society of Japan", and the MSJ as we have today was established at that time. The founders of "Tokyo Mathematics Society" recognized the importance of mathematics as the basis of all sciences, and devoted themselves in introducing European mathematics to Japan. In the ensuing 130 years, research and education of mathematics in Japan have seen dramatic development, and achievements of Japanese mathematical researchers have been receiving high recognition throughout the world. Japanese mathematical environment has produced three Fields medalists and the first Gauss prize winner and it enjoys firmly established reputation internationally.

Kunihiko Kodaira

Heisuke Hironaka

Shigefumi Mori

Kiyoshi Ito
1877  Establishment of "Tokyo Mathematical Society"
1884 Reorganized as "Tokyo Mathematical and Physical Society"
1907 The 200th posthumous anniversary for Takakazu Seki
1918 Changed its name to the Physico-Mathematical Society of Japan
1946 Split and established as "The Mathematical Society of Japan"
1952 Acquired the corporation status
1954 Kunihiko Kodaira was awarded the Fields medal
1955 Hosted International Conference on Algebraic Number Theory
1969 Hosted International Conference on Functional Analysis
1970 Heisuke Hironaka was awarded the Fields medal
1973 Hosted International Conference on Manifold Theory
1977 The 100th anniversary
1990 International Conference of Mathematicians ICM90 was held at Kyoto.
Shigehumi Mori was awarded the Fields medal.
1996 The 50th anniversary for the establishment of The Mathematical Society of Japan
2006 Kiyoshi Ito was awarded the first Gauss prize
2007 The 300th posthumous anniversary of Takakazu Seki
2010 The 50th posthumous anniversary of Teiji Takagi